600 seconds

Check on your friends who’ve completely embraced that weird Netflix show, I Think You Should Leave, as their entire personality.

I mean, the show is fine, but it’s getting out of hand.

So check on your friends. Because they might have changed everyone’s contact photos in their phone to pictures of Tim Robinson’s face.

And if they did that, they might be struggling to know who is reacting to their text messages at any given moment.

And if that’s happening, they might be in a constant battle with themselves about whether or not they should give up and change everyone’s pictures back, or try to memorize which Tim Robinson is which.

It’s hard to say for sure.

Not me though. I’m fine.


So let’s get into it:

[hands]

Everyone says ‘touch grass’ this and ‘touch grass’ that. And I get it. We could all better ourselves with a gentle unplugging1.

But you won’t catch me going outside in Louisiana in the middle of a scorcher to touch grass. I refuse.

But I did touch some mold today and it was life changing. My kid and I Luna Bean’ed2. We made an absolute mess and molded our hands.

I didn’t care where the mold and plaster powder landed.
I didn’t care that we weren’t really doing it correctly.
I didn’t care that a finger tip broke off when it was all said and done3.

Because for 600 seconds, I held my little girl’s hand with no where to go.

We were in agreement that we would just sit. Together.
And we would just spend our time. Together.
No phones or TVs or coloring or running or cooking…

She used to need my hands, you know. 

To hold bottles,
to play peek-a-boo,
to draw hearts,
to remove splinters,
to squeeze Paw Patrol toothpaste on to Paw Patrol toothbrushes,
to braid hair,
to open string cheese packets,
to place Elsa Band-Aids,
to turn pages,

and

I’m just not sure when her hands
decided they didn’t need me anymore.

But she held my hand today for 600 seconds.
And I was the one who needed that.

1 . On second thought, I do not like the way this sounds.
2. We are 0/2 on trying out new verbs today.
3 . I do care.

Things I’d share with you, if we were in a group chat:

The music industry has been real quiet since this dropped.

Are you panicking? Are you panicking? ALL ABOARD.

I feel so seen. He is my spirit animal.

Reminders to remember. Remember this.

Sorry to get political. But

Until next time. - cd