Remember static?

The 20th-century TV experience is dead...

Check on your friends who can’t seem to root for the right teams.

Not me though. I’ve got my 49ers socks primed and ready for game day and I’m rooting for the Lions.

I’m playing both sides so that I always come out on top.

Let’s get into it:

[derek]

I had never blown up an ant hill before, but he was determined, so I followed suit. We walked up beside it, and I watched nervously as he placed the tiny explosive into the pile of dirt. It soon looked like that old TV static that would come on when the cable would shut off. “Oh. Thats why they call it that,” I thought.

I watched as he surgically pushed the firework down a little more. Like a parent adding candles to a birthday cake. Only this time, there would be no singing. What’s the point of a countdown, anyway?

We each did one last check to make sure his parents weren’t looking... then it was time to step back and I quickly plugged my ears.

You can hear the ocean in your fingertips, you know.

I watched him fumble with his father’s lighter. He’s “done this before once with his cousin.” It “takes a couple tries.” When it eventually sparked, I did my best to look excited as it caught fire. But all I could really feel were my fingernails pushing against the insides of my ear canal.

I listened to the ocean in my fingertips.

And when he wasn’t looking, that’s when I finally gave in. I scrunched my face and squeezed my eyes shut. Fuck. I just came here so we could go ride bikes.

I was going to write something cool about the sound of tv static, having to share a remote with your dad who liked watching Cops, recording episodes of Growing Pains on VHS, and kids these days not understanding what it’s like to have to watch a show from whichever point it was at when you found it. But I felt like I’d be preaching to the choir and I’m getting pretty sleepy.

But it would’ve been great, I think.

go lions.
until next time. - cd