SETTLE DOWN, CLASS

eyes on me

Check on your friends who have turned a drunken jersey purchase into their entire personality.

Not me though. I bought all of these completely sober.

Let’s get into it:

[burnt marshmallows]

hay bales look lighter
when you’re far enough away.

your father pulled over and
walked you through the weeds.

told you to push
until your body was forced
to bare confessions of being weak.

[the mantra of natalie portman]

There’s a disconnect in how we have all learned to think about learning.

It’s hard to ignore. If you’re a parent, you see it in the red marks that come home in book sacks. We’re swarmed from all directions by talking heads, telling us what is important to know and how hard we must work to hold on to the knowing of those ideas.

And while I do believe that learning can come from books and lessons and effort, I always find myself repeating the mantra1 of Natalie Portman:

I don’t love studying. I hate studying.
I like learning. Learning is beautiful.

And isn’t it? Shouldn’t it be?

I’ve spent the better part of my life studying the ideas that people told me I should have2, only to thrive because of the thoughts that I was brave enough to think on my own.

In the first grade, I learned that I didn’t want to lie to people, because of the immense guilt that I felt after stealing a caramel from a store and never being caught. Most recently, I’ve learned all about the timelines and theories involving the royal family since December 2023.

And aside from every single one of my lived experiences, I’ve also learned most of what I know about the world by surrounding myself with the freedom to follow rabbitholes.

There’s a disconnect in how we have all learned to think about learning.

And the most devastatingly beautiful part of it all, is how learning continues, even when we’d rather that it hadn’t. A kid repeats ‘fuck’ in the kitchen. A student is never called upon in class. A child sees their parent glancing at their phone during stories of playground antics.

Everyone is learning something, all of the time.

What is it that we hope to teach people about ourselves? What is it that we want to learn? I don’t have the answers. But what I do know is that I don’t love studying. I hate studying. I like learning. Learning is beautiful.

1 Some might call it a “quote” from “an interview”
2 The mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell, no doubt

Every few years, I try to sit down and re-read The Book of Learning and Forgetting. It’s been my personal anchor to knowing about how we know the things that we know.

You know?

Another notable characteristic of this continual and vicarious learning is that it is permanent, or almost so. We usually don’t start forgetting the things we learn from the company we keep throughout our lives, such as the way we talk and the way we feel about ourselves, until there is massive physical damage or degeneration. We’d often be much better off if we could forget a particular habit we’ve acquired or an attitude we may have learned toward ourselves, but the more we try to forget such things the more we tend to remember them.

Frank Smith

🥃 Peter Overzet’s Best Ball After Dark

I’ve been invited to talk ball, parenting, Wordle, and maybe probably if he wants to, everything Rashid Shaheed.

Saturday / 9:00pm EST.

Become a member of Pete’s youtube to watch live (top 2 teirs).

follow your rabbitholes.
until next time. - cd