urban legends

Check on your friends who are having a hard time understanding.

Not me though. I’m here for a good time not a hard time.

Let’s get into it:

[want]

I spend my nights,
half my life,
talking to ghosts.

Can’t bring myself to speak to them out by the stones.

I’m alright, enough,
til the want creeps in,
for flesh and bone.

I’m alright,
enough.
I talk to ghosts.

[seven1]

I remember hearing a rumor in childhood that our bodies replace themselves every seven years.

As one door closes, another door opens. But instead of wooden archways, it’s cell membranes - or something like it - I don’t speak in science.
Cells are born and cells are dying.

“The new ones,” they whispered, “without warning, come in and take their place.”

I remember hearing a rumor that everything changes
and laughed right in it’s face.

But I’m sitting in a stranger’s house, calling it my home,
and everything’s been replaced.
I used a shot glass
for my daughter’s wild flowers
as a vase.
My father is no longer here,
but I hold his features on my face.

The girl I was has died, and without warning, I took her place.

1. not that fucking scary movie with the box.

Wake up! A new Adam Sandler movie just dropped.

Last night we watched Spaceman. Well, we started watching it two days ago. I fall asleep, sometimes. Sue me.

Last night we finished Spaceman.*

I won’t spoil anything, but despite the particles and cosmos and astronautics - this is not a sci-fi movie.

When it ended, I was sure that I absolutely hated it. Until I considered the entire film as a metaphor… and now, I am certain I absolutely loved it.

your cells are just fine.
until next time. - cd